Engineering - WS Expertise?

Ask & answer questions, submit ideas or post guides on the Artisan Expertise.

Moderators: Feralmonkey, Crafting Forum Moderators, Forum Moderator

Borderlad
Novice Crafter

Engineering - WS Expertise?

Post by Borderlad » Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:10 pm

(Ignoring the difference in RE...)
Is there anything an Engineer-WS can do that a Munitions-WS can not?
Is there any usefulness at all to the WS line of Engineering expertise?

I realize that the absence of an Engineer-WS forum is probably a strong indicator of the answer, but I still want to ask.
"I never heard of a board attacking anybody." - B. Lee

Zbignew
Intermediate Crafter

Re: Engineering - WS Expertise?

Post by Zbignew » Fri Oct 02, 2009 3:46 pm

Did you play pre-NGE? The game is different now. Trader/Engineer and Trader/Munitions are the current professions. If you look under the 'view schematics' menu and then sort by profession, you can see the difference in items that can be made. Basically once you are beyond the 'Artisan" level, Engineers make droids, cybernetics and specific BE components while Munitions does weapons and armor and their own set of components.
if you are new, welcome :D , if not welcome back.

Zbig
Proji--------------------------Syotr
Wannabe Droid Engineer-- Wannabe Ranger

Borderlad
Novice Crafter

Post by Borderlad » Fri Oct 02, 2009 5:08 pm

Hi! Yes, I played pre-NGE. The Jedi village (Aurilia?) was the newest addition to the game, last I played.

Thank you for your reply!
I didn't quite get the information I was looking for, though. I will try to be more exacting with my questions.

Both Trader/Engineer and Trader/Munitions have, in their expertise trees...
- Weaponsmith Dexterity (bonus to weapon assembly)
- Weaponsmith Hypothesis (bonus to weapon experimentation)
- Weaponsmith Advanced Theory (bonus weapon experimentation point)